Writing Inspiration…What gets the juices flowing?

What is inspiration?

Inspiration is something that makes someone want to do something or that gives someone an idea about what to do or create–a force or influence that inspires someone.  It can be a person, place, experience, etc., that makes someone want to do or create something new and exciting.

So what inspires you?  Is it a song you heard on the radio?  A phrase from a favorite book?  A picture you’ve seen or place you’ve been?  Is it a routine you have to get the mindset to create?

For me, my inspiration is everything around me.  Everything I do, see or feel inspires me to want to create.  I have always been an artistic person, and being a stay-at-home-mom has not diminished my drive to do something creative.  Whether I’m drawing, working on my novels, creating new and exciting jewelry or just working on a school project with my kids.

Lately, I have found that I am more artistically inclined while at home in the evenings.  Usually after the kids have gone to bed and everything settles down for the evening.  Even when I was younger I worked better on art projects when it was close to 2 or 3 in the morning.  Preferably the day the art assignment was due.  I always seemed to do my best work when under a time crunch.

As for writing, I seem to have more of drive to work on my novels when I can get away.  I go to the closest Panera Bread, order the same thing for lunch, plug in my headphones and let the words flow.  I’ve found that my routine works for me.  I can write over 10 pages and proofread before posting a new chapter to my Wattpad account.

But one thing always stays the same, whether I am home with the kids or out at my favorite hang out.  I always have music playing.  In the background while the kids have fun or blasting in my ears through my headphones.  Music is my inspiration.

So what’s yours?

Leave a comment